Forum

FORUMS > EON Authoring Tools Forum > Positioning Objects in EON Studio
RE: Positioning Objects in EON Studiotop^
Lloyd Churches
Username: eonman
Posted: Thu 5 Jun, 2008 7:45 AM
3760 days ago
Location: Australia
Administrators

If you want to position objects in EON Studio then there are prototypes that can help. See the Object Movers prototype library. Janet was asking me which is better to use, the newer MoveRotateArrows3d or the older DragManager/DragSelecter.

In general I would recommend the newer MoveRotateArrows3D prototype because of its quick simple set up and reliable, intuitive drag behavior. But DragManager has many more features which if you're interested in them, may be worth the extra set up time.

To make it easier to compare the two I drew up a table and commented on each feature by feature.

The result is in this Word document attached.

There are of course several more ways of moving objects and each has their pros and cons. Hope this helps people decide when to use what.

Lloyd

 ComparePositioningTools.doc

RE: Positioning Objects in EON Studiotop^
Elias Tang
Username: tankman
Posted: Sun 30 Oct, 2011 7:02 AM
2518 days ago
Location: Oman
Maintenance
Hi Lloyd,

I tried to use MoveRotateArrows3d Prototype on Car.eoz (the tutorial file in TutorialFiles folder).

I put the prototype under Camera frame, then paste PlainCar frame as a link in MoveRotateArrows3d prototype's RootNode folder. Started the simulation, then tried to move it.

The problem is I can only move 1 child of the PlainCar frame at a time. How to move the entire PlainCar?

And when I closed the simulation, the position of the moved object went back to its original position. How to make it stay at the new position?
RE: Positioning Objects in EON Studiotop^
Lloyd Churches
Username: eonman
Posted: Mon 31 Oct, 2011 12:16 AM
2517 days ago
Location: Australia
Administrators

Hi Elias,

The RootNode folder is designed to hold the parent frame of the frame nodes you can move so obviously if you want to move the PlainCar frame then set its parent as the RootNode.

Also, as designed, frame positions are returned to original position when you close the simulation.

There is a prototype called SaveFrameValues that you can use to make the changes permanent. Put the reference of the PlainCar in the SaveFrameValue's field called Frames. If you have several frames that have all the same parent then put the parent frame and set the SaveFrameValue's field called 'SaveChildrenToo' to true.

Lloyd

RE: Positioning Objects in EON Studiotop^
Elias Tang
Username: tankman
Posted: Mon 31 Oct, 2011 5:22 AM
2517 days ago
Location: Oman
Maintenance
When I was trying to move the object, the Camera was also moving. Is there a way to lock the Camera and other object?
RE: Positioning Objects in EON Studiotop^
Lloyd Churches
Username: eonman
Posted: Mon 31 Oct, 2011 7:39 AM
2517 days ago
Location: Australia
Administrators

Yes there is. Presumably, you still use the Walk node to move the camera. You can turn off the Walk node while the MoveRotateArrows3D prototype is moving an object by putting a node reference of the Walk node into the DisableWhenMoving folder.

RE: Positioning Objects in EON Studiotop^
Elias Tang
Username: tankman
Posted: Mon 31 Oct, 2011 8:26 AM
2517 days ago
Location: Oman
Maintenance
I don't use Walk node. Please take a look at my attachment. Can you make the car move without moving the Camera?

 test_Car.eoz

RE: Positioning Objects in EON Studiotop^
Lloyd Churches
Username: eonman
Posted: Mon 31 Oct, 2011 9:46 AM
2517 days ago
Location: Australia
Administrators

Yes, had a look.

The Camera is not moving actually.

It only looks like it is because you are moving the ground that is under the car as well.

If you would hide the ground found under PlainCar\Misc\Ground you may understand.

Then put in another ground that doesn't move with the car, like the GridPlane2 prototype.

Like I've done in the attached file.

 test_Car2.eoz

RE: Positioning Objects in EON Studiotop^
Elias Tang
Username: tankman
Posted: Mon 31 Oct, 2011 10:19 AM
2517 days ago
Location: Oman
Maintenance
Thank you Lloyd.
RE: Positioning Objects in EON Studiotop^
Nicky Jones
Username: globalhero
Posted: Wed 22 Aug, 2018 2:54 PM
30 days ago
Location: United States
Demo users
Thanks to Lloyd Churches for such cool tips. Next time I'll try my best to do the same. 2048 cupcakes