Forum

FORUMS > EON Authoring Tools Forum > Flash Node in iCube
RE: Flash Node in iCubetop^
Sunil Naidu
Username: sunil.naidu
Posted: Tue 28 Jun, 2011 2:17 AM
2699 days ago
Location: United States
Maintenance

We would like to use a Flash GUI for our simulation.  Our setup is on an iCube configured powerwall (3 projectors: left, right, center).

The flash node appears on all three screens.  How do we set up our gui so that it only appears on the center?

RE: Flash Node in iCubetop^
Lloyd Churches
Username: eonman
Posted: Tue 28 Jun, 2011 2:32 AM
2699 days ago
Location: Australia
Administrators

The solution to this typical problem lies in the computer's registry. Each computer is unique by either being a master or slave and each slave has a slave id number.

There is a prototype I created called MasterSlaveIdentifier that sends out an IsMaster boolean field and a SlaveID integer field.

Based on that you can show or hide a certain GUI element such as the FlashObject.

I'm attaching the prototype. There's one for EON 6 and one for EON 7 because the info is stored in different registry location for different versions.

 MasterSlaveIdentifier For EON 6.eoz
 MasterSlaveIdentifier For EON 7.eoz

RE: Flash Node in iCubetop^
Sunil Naidu
Username: sunil.naidu
Posted: Tue 28 Jun, 2011 3:03 AM
2699 days ago
Location: United States
Maintenance

Great!! What is the registry value that I assign to the Flash node for each of the slave machines?  I'm guessing a '0' should work?


Thanks!

RE: Flash Node in iCubetop^
Lloyd Churches
Username: eonman
Posted: Tue 28 Jun, 2011 4:34 AM
2699 days ago
Location: Australia
Administrators

If you have an Icube then you already have assigned slave ids in the EON Simulation Configuration > Distributed MC > This is a slave machine > Slave Identifier.

You don't assign them to a FlashObject node.

If you only want the FlashObject on the master screen then you can connect the IsMaster outevent of the prototype to the IsActive field of the FlashObject node.

The above sentence is wrong. Don't use routes to connect the two because in a cluster system the routes of the master are sent to the slave so all computers will be the same. Therefore use the MasterSlaveIdentifier to send the event directly by putting a reference of the FlashObject node in the SendIsMasterTo field and then also set the IsMasterField to "IsActive" which is the field on the Flashobject node you want to change.

If you want it on a particular slave screen you need to modify with script so you get a boolean so if SlaveID==1 then IsActive=true else IsActive=false, that sort of thing.

 

RE: Flash Node in iCubetop^
Lloyd Churches
Username: eonman
Posted: Tue 28 Jun, 2011 4:36 AM
2699 days ago
Location: Australia
Administrators

Another thing. The FlashObject node is not very stable. That is why it was removed for EON 7 onwards. Hopefully we can fix this in future.

Particularly, I know that a Slider node and FlashObject node together cause EON to crash.

RE: Flash Node in iCubetop^
Sunil Naidu
Username: sunil.naidu
Posted: Wed 29 Jun, 2011 12:51 AM
2698 days ago
Location: United States
Maintenance
I connected the IsMaster outevent  of the your prototype to the IsActive field of the FlashObject node but the flash node is still showing up on the slave viewers as well.  I also tried to change the Slave0Name field from 'Master' to the actual name of the computer ('Center'), but that didn't work.  Any suggestions on what I should do?  Thanks!
RE: Flash Node in iCubetop^
Lloyd Churches
Username: eonman
Posted: Wed 29 Jun, 2011 4:24 AM
2698 days ago
Location: Australia
Administrators

Perhaps it would work if the FlashObject is disabled at start so that the IsMaster field will turn on the FlashObject if it is off.

 Another suggestion is to delay the event until after initialization. So connect the IsMaster to the SetRun of a time sensor and after a second send it to the IsActive of the FlashObject.

RE: Flash Node in iCubetop^
Sunil Naidu
Username: sunil.naidu
Posted: Sun 3 Jul, 2011 10:21 PM
2693 days ago
Location: United States
Maintenance
I tried the preceding suggestions, but no luck.  I also tried to implement the 3DPosTo2D prototype with the flash node but that did not work as well.  Is there a way to tell the viewports to ignore the flash player?  Or specify at which viewport the flash player should display?
RE: Flash Node in iCubetop^
Lloyd Churches
Username: eonman
Posted: Mon 4 Jul, 2011 1:44 AM
2693 days ago
Location: Australia
Administrators

No, there is no way to tell the viewports to ignore the flash player and no way to tell the flash player which viewport to display on. The only way is the way I have described. Perhaps try a different flash file. I have tested here and the flashobject can be made visibile and invisible so I don't understand why it wouldn't work for you.

If you press the F8 key with the MasterSlaveIdentifier prototype you should see large text labels at the top of the screen with the name of the computer, thus you know that the MasterSlaveIdentifier is working. Can you verify that?

RE: Flash Node in iCubetop^
Sunil Naidu
Username: sunil.naidu
Posted: Wed 6 Jul, 2011 6:23 PM
2690 days ago
Location: United States
Maintenance
Yes I can verify that it is working.  Does the MoveGUInodes prototype allow for control over flash objects?  I tried implementing it but I'm not sure if I configured it correctly.  I'll keep messing with it.
RE: Flash Node in iCubetop^
Sunil Naidu
Username: sunil.naidu
Posted: Sat 9 Jul, 2011 8:53 PM
2687 days ago
Location: United States
Maintenance
Still no luck.  Would it be possible to pull the Flash node into a BPButton and still retain interactivity?
RE: Flash Node in iCubetop^
Sunil Naidu
Username: sunil.naidu
Posted: Tue 12 Jul, 2011 5:03 PM
2684 days ago
Location: United States
Maintenance
That didn't work either.  I have to demo this to our customer in 2 days.  Any suggestions on what else I can do
RE: Flash Node in iCubetop^
Lloyd Churches
Username: eonman
Posted: Wed 13 Jul, 2011 8:57 AM
2684 days ago
Location: Australia
Administrators

See the red text above.

Sorry for not remembering this initially.